The other Rafa finals

Everyone is waiting for today’s grand final between Nadal and Tsitsipas. And everyone remembers what happened between the final between the two of 2018, in which a more than surprising Tsitsipas could do nothing with the power that Nadal demonstrated. Today, once again, he will play the final in front of his opponent’s public. Did something similar happen in the other finals?

In 2005, the cyclone Nadal came to his club after winning in Brazil, Acapulco and Monte Carlo. His victim in the grand finale, Juan Carlos Ferrero, bowed to the rising star from Manacor. Something similar happened to Tommy Robredo in 2006 in the last final to be held in the best of five sets, although Nadal would only need three to win the trophy again. The Argentine Cañas was the graceful player defeated in 2007 before giving way to the finals between Nadal and David Ferrer, who were the opponents of the Sunday match in 2008, 2009, 2011 and 2012. In 2008 it should be noted that the current director of the Barcelona Open Banc Sabadell managed to take a set from Nadal, the only set has lost in his eleven finals played.

Nico Almagro enjoyed a great run in 2012 reaching the final although he could not defeat his compatriot either. The one of 2016 against Kei Nishikori was the one of the ‘reconquest’, since Rafa fell prior to the final in 2015 and in 2014. And in 2017, before the aforementioned final between Nadal and Tsitsipas, it was Dominic Thiem’s ​​who saw Nadal own every corner of the centre court to take home the trophy.

Total balance, in those finals: 24 sets won, only one lost, a win/loss record of 81/35. Today is the turn to confirm the alternative that represents the enormous growth of Tsitsipas … or to add another great record to Nadal’s unique career.