The ATP grants the media service award to the Barcelona Open Banc Sabadell | Barcelona Open Banc Sabadell

The ATP grants the media service award to the Barcelona Open Banc Sabadell

The communications team of the Barcelona Open Banc Sabadell has been awarded with the media services award. The presentation took place during the European Group Workshop of the ATP circuit, the annual meeting of the highest governing body of the world of tennis with the organizers of the continental tournaments of the calendar, which has been held in Monte Carlo.

The other prizes awarded for the work of the tournaments during the 2018 season have fallen to the following organizations: Basilea (Most Improved Venue), Kitzbühel (Fan experience), Queen's (Player Services) and Metz (PR and Marketing).

It is the third time that the ATP has awarded the Barcelona Open Banc Sabadell, considered one of the main tournaments in the world on clay. In 2015, the excellence of the facility received an award, capable of transforming itself in a few days from a sports club to a competition stadium, and in 2018 for the treatment provided to the participating tennis players.

The ATP has valued the work of the tournament’s communications team, responsible for the organisation of the different work areas, the complete documentation made available to journalists, the digital strategy, the attention to the media and the coordination of parallel events such as the promotional photo call prior to the competition that has already become a tradition on the agenda of the Barcelona Open Banc Sabadell.

On behalf of the tournament, Mariona Gallifa, of IMG, and Francesc Terns, have been the ones who have collected the trophy from David Massey, member of the management committee of the ATP. The meeting was attended by directors and representatives of the 34 Europeans of the circuit, as well as the two ATP finals, the one in London and the Next Gen in Milan.

The number of journalists accredited to the Barcelona Open Banc Sabadell has remained stable in recent years. The 2018 tournament was attended by 490 representatives of the media, mostly from the three television companies that cover the event, TVE as host broadcaster, TV3 and Movistar +. The accreditation period for this year's edition, which will be held between April 20 and 28, will begin in mid-March.