Six of the 10 best in the world will start the 2019 season in Brisbane, Doha and Pune | Barcelona Open Banc Sabadell

Six of the 10 best in the world will start the 2019 season in Brisbane, Doha and Pune

The first week of competition of the 2019 season, which is the first one of the year, will hav some top ten players distributed in the three already classic tournaments of that expected debut. Brisbane (Australia), Doha (Qatar) and Pune (India) will be attended by more than half of the best tennis players of the moment, including Novak Djokovic and Rafa Nadal, numbers 1 and 2 in the world.

The 11-time Barcelona Open champion Banc Sabadell has again scheduled the start of his season in Brisbane, where he will play for the second time (the first was in 2017), with an eye on the Australian Open. Nadal hopes to reach that ATP 250 tournament in full form and will coincide with Andy Murray, who returns to the courts after a four-month break (his last match was the quarterfinals of the Shenzhen tournament at the end of September where he fell to Fernando Verdasco), and with Kei Nishikori, again new in the top-10 after his brilliant closing of the 2018 campaign.

Djokovic has chosen Doha, where he won in 2016 and 2017, to premiere next season. He is at the top of the world ranking, but his last two finals, against Karen Khachanov (Paris) and Alexander Zverev (London), meant two unexpected defeats for the Serbian. In the Qatari tournament he will coincide with another of the great players of the moment, Dominic Thiem, current number 8 in the world.

On the other hand, the youngest tournament to be held since last year, the one in Pune, continuation of Chennai, will feature the South African Kevin Anderson and the Croatian Marin Cilic.

In total, there are six top-10 announced in the first week of competition. The other four, Roger Federer, Zverev, Juan Martin del Potro and John Isner, at least so far, prefer to wait.