Three champions and four finalists enrich this year´s prodigious draw of the tournament | Barcelona Open Banc Sabadell

Three champions and four finalists enrich this year´s prodigious draw of the tournament

Three tournament champions and four who were finalists in their day will participate in the 67th edition of the Barcelona Open Banc Sabadell, which starts in just over three weeks. The champions are Rafa Nadal, who between 2005 and 2018 has gathered no less than 11 titles, Fernando Verdasco, who won the 2010 edition, and Kei Nishikori, the dominator of the years 2014 and 2015.

The number of champions could increase in the event that the Catalan Tommy Robredo received an invitation from the organization. Due to his current ranking (226), at this point he does not have a spot for the main draw of the qualifying draw. Robredo won his Barcelona Open Banc Sabadell title in 2004, when he won a five-set final against Gastón Gaudio.

Those who played for the victory, but unable to cross the finish line, David Ferrer, who has been four times finalist in the years 2008, 2009, 2011 and 2012. He always stumbled over the same stone: Nadal. Ferrer will say farewell to Barcelona fans in this tournament. During this season he has been doing the same in the tournaments in which he had the fondest memories such as Auckland, Buenos Aires, Acapulco and Miami.

Other players could also reached the final stage were Pablo Andújar in 2015, who will most likely take part in the qualifying given the high quality of the draw and his current ranking, Dominic Thiem in 2017 and Stefanos Tsitsipas last year.

The singles draw of the tournament is made up of 48 players. Four others (Benoit Paire, David Goffin, Philipp Kohlschreiber and Pablo Carreño) have once reached the penultimate round, the semifinals, and four have reached the quarterfinals: Fabio Fognini, Feliciano López, Albert Ramos and Karen Khachanov.